Transit Time vs Best Seen

OK - Newbie question here…by the way, I’ve been using Telescopius since September 2021 and absolutely love it !

So… I get the email when an object is reaching Transit at a certain time. What does that mean ?

In planning acquisitions throughout the year, I set up Monthly Observing Lists based on “best seen at _____ date”

Should I plan to capture an object based on Transit Time or Best Seen ?

thank you in advance

Hi Lockwood,
Always good to help another newbie …

‘Transit’ is the time when the object you’re observing crosses your local meridian - that is, the circle that goes around the Earth and crosses directly over both poles and is directly overhead wherever you are. Of course, the meridian depends on where you are, so an object will transit at different times, depending on your location.

At transit, an object is usually (not always) at ‘culmination’ - that is, at the highest point it reaches as it traverses across the sky.

An object is usually ‘best seen’ when at culmination - simply because it’s up high, so you get fewer obstructions, and the light from it is less refracted by the atmosphere - so you get a clearer image.

Light from objects lower down in the sky has to go through more air to reach your telescope (or your eye), so it’s more affected by atmospheric disturbances - that’s why stars twinkle.

You also get greater spherical aberration (distortion of the shape) and chromatic aberration (separation of the colours). If you look at images of a planet like Jupiter taken from Earth, it’s very common for the image to appear bluish on one side and reddish on the other - that’s chromatic aberration.

The rules are different for things like meteors - they are usually ‘best seen’ at specific times of the year - eg the Geminids are peaking tonight, and appear to be coming from the region of Gemini - hence the name.

I hope that helps :slight_smile:

Best regards from Australia …

Gary

2 Likes